Volunteer Committees

Review the following member opportunities and submit your selection below to get connected to your SOPHE volunteer opportunity.

2023 Annual Meeting Planning Committee – Kristen Rogers, Trustee

Advocacy and Resolutions Committee – Sabrina T. Cherry, Trustee
Co-Chairs: Alexis Blavos, Megan Smith.
Identifies priority health issues related to health education and advocates for funding and science-based policies. Reviews resolutions proposed by the SOPHE membership and refer them to the Board of Trustees for approval. Provides follow-up on the implementation of the action steps of approved resolutions.

Audit Committee – Treasurer – William Potts, Trustee
Selects an independent audit firm and reviews audit results. (Note: SOPHE bylaws stipulate Board members only).

Awards Committee –  Cam Escoffrey
Co-Chairs: Samantha Paige and Victoria Wagner-Greene
Develops and reviews awards criteria, encourages submissions to the SOPHE awards programs, evaluates and recommends awards winners, corresponds with nominees and award winners.

Bylaws Committee – Secretary: Rachel Dombrowski
Reviews bylaws and prepares changes recommended by the Board for a vote of the SOPHE membership.

Continuing Education Committee – Co-Chairs: Linda Forys & Kay Deaner  
Oversees SOPHE’s status as a multiple event provider of continuing education contact hours, and coordinates all distance learning.   

Communications Committee – Chair: Sharon Moton
Contributes to communications trends and policies affecting SOPHE members. Strategizes outreach via National Health Education Week, #myimpact, and the annual conference, to market health educators.

Ethics Committee – Chair: Sely-Ann Headley
Facilitates responsible ethical pursuit by health educators of their profession.

Finance Committee – Treasurer: Jeff Goodman
Develops SOPHE’s annual budget, reviews monthly accounting, and oversees SOPHE investments, SOPHE tax returns.

Governance Task ForceLaura Rasar King

Health Equity and Anti-Racism (HEAR) Task Force – Chair: Jean Breny Co-Chairs: Jonathan Johnson and Jody O. Early

History Advisory Work Group – Chair: Julia Alber
Oversees SOPHE’s documentation and celebration of SOPHE’s historical highlights.

Membership Committee – Co-Chairs: Mary Shaw-Ridley and Nelson Atehortua
Develops and evaluates programs/strategies related to recruitment/retention of SOPHE members.

National Committee on the Future of School Health Education
Develops recommendations for strengthening school health education programs. Formerly School Health Expert Panel. By invitation only.hip development.

Professional Development Committee –Trustee: Nicolette Powe
Oversees SOPHE’s Center for Online Resources & Education and programs to address continuing education needs of SOPHE members and the health and education workforce.

Professional Preparation Committee – Co-Chair: Kristen Rogers
Addresses quality assurance of professional preparation of health educators.  Coordinates National Implementation Task Force on Accreditation in Health Education, Community Colleges, and Faculty Community of Practice.

Publications Committee – Chair: Jody Early
Develops criteria for SOPHE publications, evaluates new proposals, and oversees SOPHE-sponsored publications.

Research Agenda Committee – Co-Chairs: Rhonda Rahn & Nelson Atehortua De la Pena
Identifies research needs relevant to health education, creates awareness of needs among researchers and practitioners, and fosters links between health education research to practice and vice versa.

Resource Development Committee – Immediate Past-President: Jean Breny & President-Elect: Deborah Fortune
Develops plan to ensure the long-term financial stability & growth of SOPHE consistent with the mission and strategic plan.

School Health Teacher Education Standards Work Group – Co-Chair: Susan Goekler
Develops school health teacher education standards for accreditation. By invitation only.

Strategic Planning Committee – Trustee: Cherylee Sherry
Develops and monitors the implementation of SOPHE’s strategic plan and tracking measures; recommends revisions to SOPHE’s Board of Trustees