Eight members elected to SOPHE’s 2019-2020 board of trustees

WASHINGTON, D.C. – January 16, 2019 – SOPHE congratulates eight members elected to the SOPHE 2019-2020 Board of Trustees.

The new board members will be inducted and begin their terms of office on March 27, 2019 during the all-member business meeting at SOPHE’s 70th Annual Conference in Salt Lake City. They join 12 other board members who in total comprise SOPHE’s governing body.


Cam Escoffery, PhD, MPH, MCHES®, associate professor, Emory Rollins School of Public Health, will serve a three-year term as president-elect, president and immediate past president from March 2019 through spring 2022.

Two-year term positions

Treasurer: Jeffrey Goodman, MPH, associate program director and Core Program Faculty, Graduate Program in LGBT Health Policy and Practice, George Washington University and Lecturer in Health Sciences, (BSPH and MPH Community Health Education Programs), California State University Northridge. Jeff has been re-elected as treasurer and will continue as a member of SOPHE’s Executive Committee.

Trustee, 2020 Annual Conference: Elizabeth Stevenson, MPH, president, Stevenson Solutions, LLC, Atlanta.

Trustee, Professional Development: Nicolette Warren Powe, DrPH, MCHES®, assistant professor, director of B.S.A.S. Public Health Program and MPH Campus Coordinator, Youngstown State University, Youngstown, Ohio.

Trustee, Advocacy & Resolutions: Heidi Hancher-Rauch, PhD, CHES®, associate professor and public health program director, University of Indianapolis.

Trustee, Strategic Initiatives: Cherylee Sherry, MPH, MCHES®, Healthy Systems Supervisor, Office of Statewide Health Improvement Initiatives, Minnesota Department of Health, Minneapolis.

Trustee, Publications: Jody O. Early, PhD, MS, CHES®, associate professor and director, Teaching and Learning Center, University of Washington, Bothell.

One-year term position:

Trustee, Student: Meghan Shewmake, MA, CHES®, and third year doctoral student, The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa. Alabama.

In addition to these individuals elected by National SOPHE members, the House of Delegates has selected Shanna Livermore, MPH, MCHES,® FRSPH, co-director of the University of Southern California Pacific AIDS Education and Training Center, as speaker of the house. She will be joined on the board with three other representatives of SOPHE’s 23 chapters.

“These new board members bring outstanding skills, vision, and partnerships that will further enhance our SOPHE leadership team,”

says SOPHE President Angela Mickalide, PhD, MCHES®.

“We welcome their diverse perspectives and voices in serving our membership and achieving SOPHE’s mission and strategic plan.”

#     #     #