SOPHE Announces 2024 Award Recipients

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) will present awards and scholarships to public health professionals, health education researchers, faculty, programs, practitioners and students during the 2024 Annual Conference in St. Louis, March 19-21, 2024.

The awards and scholarships recognize significant advancements in the profession of health education and health promotion and outstanding contributions of veterans and rising stars to improving the public’s health.

Diane DeMuth Allensworth, PhD, will receive SOPHE’s highest honor to a member, the Distinguished Fellow Award, which recognizes individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to SOPHE and the profession of health education or public health. Allensworth demonstrated this through an exemplary scholarship and community service. 

Ross C. Brownson PhD, is the recipient of SOPHE’s highest award – the 2024 Honorary Fellow. This award is presented to non-members who have made significant and lasting contributions to health education and the public’s health. Dr. Brownson is a leading expert in chronic disease prevention and implementation science. 

The Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award is sponsored by the James F. and Sarah T. Fries Foundation/CDC Foundation to recognize an exemplary behavioral scientist. The 2024 recipient is Ninez A. Ponce, PhD, MPP. 

The 2024 Karen Denard Goldman Health Education Mentor Award recipient is Elizabeth England-Kennedy, PhD, MPH of New Mexico State University. This award recognizes a National SOPHE member in an academic or practice setting who has made a significant contribution to the preparation and/or performance of health educators and who has successfully forged the link between practice and research. 

2024 SOPHE Award Recipients

Distinguished Fellow Award
Diane DeMuth Allensworth, PhD 

Honorary Fellow Award
Ross Brownson, PhD 

Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award 
Ninez A. Ponce, PhD, MPH 

Karen Denard Goldman Health Education Mentor Award 
Elizabeth England-Kennedy, PhD, MPH 

SOPHE Trophy Award
Leonard Jack, Jr., PhD, MSc

SOPHE Presidential Citations 
Jean M. Breny, PhD, MPH
Meghan E Burroughs, PhD, MA, MCHES®
Antonio J. Gardner, PhD, MS, MCHES®
Leonard Jack Jr., PhD, MSc
Lisa Lieberman, PhD., CHES®
Miguel A. Perez, PhD, MS, MCHES®
Kimberly Price, PhD, MCHES®, CPH
Randy Schwartz, MSPH
Megan Smith, PhD
Nicole Smith, MPH, MCHES®
Patrick R. Stieg, MA, CHES®
Amy Thompson, PhD, CHES®

Most Valuable Partner Award 
Epilepsy Foundation 

Health Education Technology Innovation Award
Tung-Sung Tseng, DrPH, MS, MCHES®

Vivian Drenckhahn Student Scholarships 
Kaydee Johnson, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse 
Elizabeth Anne Kleitz, Truman State University 
Krupa Ann Matthew, University of New Haven 

Dorothy Nyswander Health Equity Award 
Maranda C. Ward, EdD, MPH 

Clarence E. Pearson Program Excellence Award
“Climate Change and Human Health ECHO Program”
Joanna G. Katzman, MD, MSPH, University of New Mexico

SOPHE/CDC Student Fellows in Injury Prevention
Alvaro Gamio Cuervo, MSW, University of Massachusetts Boston
“Suicidal Thoughts, Racial-Gendered Discrimination, and Post-Traumatic Sequelae: Ecological Momentary Assessment of Discrimination-Induced Suicidal States within a TNGE BIPOC Community Sample”

Julia D. Drattell, MEd, LAT, ATC, NASM-CES, University of Georgia
“Stakeholder Collaboration With Concussion Education”

Afroze Shaikh, MA, NCC, Georgia State University
“Expanding our Understanding of Help-Seeking Behavior: Implications for Older Adults at Elevated Risk of Suicide”

SOPHE Chapter Award of Excellence
Connecticut SOPHE

SOPHE Leaders in Equity & Diversity (LEAD) Fellowship
Asma Tahir Awan, DrPH, MD, MPH, University of Nevada Las Vegas

21st Century Student Scholarships
Aubree E. McMahon, BA, MPH, University of Pittsburgh 
Kayla Schilly, Truman State University 
Grace Tew, University of North Carolina at Wilmington 

21st Century Health Education Practice Scholarship
Mauricia Lewis, MEd, Port of Spain Corporation 

Health Education & Behavior’s Lawrence W. Green Paper of the Year Award
“Exploring Food-Based Cultural Practices to Address Food Insecurity in Rural Appalachia. Health Education and Behavior”. HE&B. 2023, Vol. 50(4): 529-537. Lauren Batey, MS, RD, Emily DeWitt, MS, RD, LD, Dawn Brewer, PhD, RD, Kathryn M. Cardarelli, PhD, and Heather Norman-Burgdolf, PhD. 

Health Promotion Practice’s Sarah Mazelis Paper of the Year Award
“Food Security and Food Sovereignty: The Difference Between Surviving and Thriving.” HPP. 2023: Vol 24(6): 1075-1079. Tara L. Maudrie, MSPH, Cassandra J. Nguyen, PhD, Rachel E. Wilbur, PhD, MPH, Megan Mucioki, PhD, Kaylee R. Clyma, MPH, Gary L. Ferguson, ND, and Valarie Blue Bird Jernigan, DrPH, MPH. 

Pedagogy in Health Promotion Paper of the Year Award
“Comparing Individual Versus Team Decision-Making Using Stimulated Exercises in a Master of Public Health Program.” PHP. 2023, Vol 9(2): 116-123. Shannon L. Sibbald, PhD, Nicole Campbell, PhD, Cecilia Flores-Sandoval, PhD, and Mark Speechley, PhD.

For more information contact:

#             #             #


The Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) is a nonprofit association that supports leaders in public health, health education and promotion to advance healthy and equitable communities across the globe. SOPHE members work in health care settings, communities, organizations, schools, universities, worksites, and in local, state and federal government agencies. For more information visit