SOPHE awards outstanding contributions to health education and health promotion

More than 30 distinguished professionals and students are recognized at SOPHE 2019 Annual Conference in Salt Lake City, March 26-29,2019

Salt Lake City – March 25, 2019 – The Society for Public Health Education, Inc. (SOPHE) will present more than 30 awards and scholarships to health education researchers, faculty, programs, practitioners and students during its 70th annual conference in Salt Lake City, March 26-29, 2019.

The awards and scholarships recognize significant advancements in the profession of health education and health promotion and outstanding contributions of veterans and rising stars to improving the health of the public.

Linda Lysoby, MS, MCHES® CAE, executive director, National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc. will receive SOPHE’s highest honor to a member, the Distinguished Fellow Award. Lysoby is the executive director of the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc (NCHEC).

Lysoby has more than 17 years of nonprofit management experience. She previously managed health promotion for a community hospital with specific initiatives in community health improvement, women’s health, senior health, development of a prenatal clinic, and initiation of a domestic violence screening program. Her commitment to quality improvement is evident by her leadership to have the NCHEC sponsored certifications earn accreditation to both nationally and internationally recognized accrediting bodies.

Dr. Georges C. Benjamin, executive director of the American Public Health Association, is awarded SOPHE’s highest honor, the Honorary Fellow Award, presented to non-members who have made significant and lasting contributions to health education and the public’s health. Throughout his career, Dr. Benjamin has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to disease prevention, health education and health promotion. He has advanced the field by conducting scholarly research, leading major policy advocacy efforts for affordable and accessible health care and served as one of the nation’s most influential and respected voices on health equity, social determinants and social justice.

The 2019 Karen Denard Goldman Health Education Mentor Award recipient is Jody O. Early, PhD, MS, MCHES® an associate professor in the School of Nursing and Health Studies at the University of Washington Bothell. During the past two decades, Early has dedicated her energy and passion to improving health equity and higher education. A first-generation college student, Jody has a passion for mentoring emerging scholars and health educators and for creating more accessible pathways to higher education and to public health education.

2019 SOPHE Award Recipients – The following awards will be presented during SOPHE’s 70th Annual Conference at the Salt Lake Palace Convention Center in Salt Lake City. A special recognition ceremony and reception for the awardees is Thursday, March 28 at 6:00 p.m.

Distinguished Fellow
Linda Lysoby, MS, MCHES® CAE, National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC)

Honorary Fellow
Georges Benjamin, MD, MACP

Karen Denard Goldman Mentor Award
Jody O. Early, PhD, MS, MCHES® University of Washington Bothell

Horizon Award
Christina Jones, PhD, Ball State University

Vivian Drenckhahn Student Scholarship
Rebecca Almeida, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, California

SOPHE/CDC Unintentional Injury Prevention Student Fellows
Vivian Hood Lyons, MPH, University of Washington
Marissa Helene Swanson, MA, University of Alabama at Birmingham

SOPHE Patient Engagement Fellow
Tyler Glenn James, MS, CHES® University of Florida

SOPHE’s 21st Century Scholarships
Thailaya Berry, Morgan State University
Ariana R. Edouard, Rhode Island College
Mckelle Hamson, Texas Women’s University
Benjamin Lasser, Truman State University
Rebecca Rich, MA, University of Alabama
Ha Ngan (Milkie) Vu, MA, Emory University
Victoria Wagner-Greene, MPH, CHES® University of Toledo

# # #